Hedland Community Elects New Council

Published: Monday, 19 October 2020 at 9:00:14 AM

Peter Carter has been elected Mayor of the Town of Port Hedland in the Local Government Election.

Town of Port Hedland CEO Carl Askew has congratulated Mr Carter on his election win. 

“On behalf of the Town of Port Hedland, I would like to commend Mr Carter on being elected as Mayor”, he said.

“He is a business owner and long-term resident of Port Hedland and brings a diverse range of experience with him.  Together, we will continue building upon our progressive plans and projects to create lasting change for people who live, work and visit our town”.

Eight Councillors have also been elected in today’s Election. These are:
* Jan Gillingham
* Renae Coles
* Elmar Zielke
* Warren McDonogh
* Kylie Unkovich
* Eva Bartho
* Lewis Kew Ming (China)
* Tim Turner

 “I would like to congratulate all of the newly elected representatives’, said Mr Askew.

“We are looking forward to working with the Councillors to achieve great things for our communities and this region,” he said.

The Elected Members will be sworn in at a ceremony in the Council Chambers on Monday 19th October at 5.30pm. All community members are invited to attend.

For media information:
Laura Hawes
Manager Corporate Affairs
(08) 9158 9365 | lhawes@porthedland.wa.gov.au

Back to All News